top of page
Featured Posts

Conflict Resolution by KKKoski

Jumping Kick

I spent the early years of my life staring into the eyes of the adults around me and absorbed how they dealt with conflicts. There are many different styles. Some people get angry and are spiteful, some people lament, others weep silently and some people remove themselves emotionally by developing a detached state of mind. Adult behaviour is generally learned by children and you often see generational methods of human interaction. Some family’s are known for being mean and bullying, others as pushovers and of course, some are safely somewhere in the middle.

We are all, variations of the afore mentioned coping styles. This is why we have wars. We have differences of opinions.

When we are unable to express and communicate, our physical state of health suffers because our mental state of contentment is damaged or left unfulfilled. Resolution is only dependent on both parties wishing to communicate. The world is rife with unresolved issues.

A fine balance must be found to introduce mediation. No one wants to be told their behaviour is unacceptable. No one wants to hear they have faults. Singling out someone to insinuate they are wrong often causes more strife than the actual deed - they have done. It is brave to start communication, even under threat of violence, hatred and slander. There has to come a point where we remove the right and wrong judgement and accept a learning curve.

Having access to conflict resolution training benefits mankind and I rather think it should be a learning module introduced to children, reinforced in families and available to all communities.

St Stephen’s Community House in Toronto, Canada offers conflict resolution and training.

I personally am looking into the coaching they offer. I know (vulnerably) that the program not only looks at how to express one’s needs towards another person but also, how one must accept to hear an opponent’s retaliation. Self depreciating and super exposing - but I’m willing to explore the feedback.

I believe there is a certain sense of relief when issues are dealt with because I think the ability to do so, is beneficial to one’s health. Our body’s have a way of saying NO and the seeds of conflict manifest in our bodies. My own personal story revolves around an ailment called Trigeminal Neuralgia . I assure you, I will do anything to keep conflict neutral in my life.

The authorities who are responsible for judgements do have a difficult task appraising when a situation needs reprimanding. By having open dialogue - I am not suggesting society lose sight of rules and regulations - which will make discipline harder and harder to enforce, I am suggesting we take a look at what impacts a victim, then relay that information to the offender so that compassion is taught.

Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page